Burnaby Village Museum
Founded in 1971, the Burnaby Village Museum is a historical site located in a recreation of a 1920s Canadian pioneer village. Visitors to the Burnaby Village Museum experience a taste of life in British Columbia in the 1920s. The site contains over 50,000 artifacts. Several buildings are original heritage structures, while others have been moved or restored. Some are open to the general public, while others are only open during specific events.
The first building visitors see on entering the Museum grounds is Elworth House. It is an example of a typical Period Revival style of architecture, with two flanking brick chimneys and multi-paned wooden sash windows. The interiors of the house include period furnishings and a full front veranda. The home was built for Edwin Bateman, a retired executive with the Canadian Pacific Railway. He was born in Cheshire, England.
The museum is also home to a replica ofuru, which commemorates the arrival of the first Japanese immigrant to B.C. in 1877. There are also Eco-sculptures, seasonal entertainment, and a ice cream parlour. The Museum reopens for the Heritage Christmas event, which takes place in late November. In addition, it is open for the school spring break. During these periods, admission is free.
In the Village, costumed historic interpreters are stationed in homes and businesses, giving demonstrations to visitors. These interpreters also engage in informal conversations, making them feel welcome and at ease. They answer questions from the visiting public, and are sometimes required to have difficult conversations.
Another important building at the Burnaby Village Museum is the Farmhouse of Jesse and Martha Love. The home is one of the oldest buildings in the village. The house was built in the late 1800s, but was moved to the museum in 1988. The house was re-decorated in the 1925 Victorian style, and modern conveniences have been added to it. The House is a good choice for visitors who want to explore the village at their own pace. It is also available for guided tours.
Other buildings at the Burnaby Village Museum are the Royal Bank, the Burnaby Beacon newspaper, and the Burnaby Post. There is also a replica Chinese Herbalist’s shop, and a music store. During the summer months, there are also camps for children. They are able to participate in activities, craft workshops, and enjoy free lunches.
The Burnaby Museum also features an indoor carousel, which was built in 1912. The carousel was made by the C.W. Parker Company. The Tram, which was a 1912 Interurban #1223 is also at the Museum. The Tram was restored in 2000, and is still in working condition. The Tram is protected from the elements. In the early 1950s, the Tram was used in Burnaby, but was discontinued in the late 1960s.
The Burnaby Museum is also working on an exhibit that includes Chinese and South Asian heritage. It is also looking for volunteers who are interested in conducting research. They can help with collections-based research online or with related objects in the Museum.